Multichoice donates resourece center to Nigeria schools

Multichoice_Logo_640The General Manager, Trade and Distribution, MultiChoice Nigeria, Mr Akin Salu, has said that the firm has donated 43 resource centres to schools in Benue State. With this, the number of resource centres donated to schools in 24 states across the country by MultiChoice has risen to 244.

This was contained in a statement issued by the firm after the presentation of the centres to beneficiaries at Mount Saint Gabriel Secondary School, Makurdi, the Benue State capital. Salu, who represented the Managing Director, Mr John Ugbe, at the event, explained that the gesture was to commemorate the 20th anniversary of MultiChoice in Nigeria, adding that the initiative was inaugurated in Abuja in 2004.

“It is befitting that we are inaugurating another set of resource centres in Makurdi, Benue State, to mark MultiChoice’s 20th anniversary in the country. The resource centre initiative is our corporate social investment project, which has grown from only four centres at inception, to 242 schools in 24 states of the federation,” he said.

He said that the firm’s involvement in education was borne out of its conviction that the technological, economic, social and political advancement of any country has a direct correlation with its level of educational development.

“Since we know that the future of a country is intrinsically tied to the quality of education that the youths are exposed to, MultiChoice believes that pupils should be exposed to qualitative education driven by technology. With these resource centres, we believe Nigerian pupils would be exposed to sound learning like their counterparts across the world,” he said.

Salu also disclosed that MultiChoice would ensure that all the states of the federation have the learning platforms in their schools. Also, Head, Public Relations, MultiChoice, Mr Segun Fayose, explained that under the Phase Eight of the MRC project, Ondo and Anambra States got 10 new centres each, Benue got 11, while the Federal Capital Territory, Abuja got extra 10 centres.  Ogun and Akwa Ibom States, he said, received an additional centre each.

Shared from


Leave a Coment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s